Tsunami of bullets and silicone tits

Tsunami of bullets and silicone tits
Thinking of a subject for this column I thought of the recent start of the tv-series The maffia’s dolls, and of a word that could describe this and other similar programmes. Extravagant! I told myself. But when I looked it up in the Real Academia Española dictionary I found the following: “What is done or said outside of the usual or common way of acting”. Yet, observing into detail the esthetics which have seized this city (Pereira, WU)- the way people talk, the way this town has begun to disguise its poverty or construct its great wealth, and even a new dialect – it strikes me that the texts of The Boss, Without Tits Paradise doesn’t exist, or The Maffia’s dolls are not extravagant. They describe in a certain way style and daily life of at least a good deal of Pereira’s and also Colombia’s society.
I made myself do the terrible job – for me – to watch some chapters of these series, only with the aim to interpret it. But is was difficult to stay in front of television without feeling revulsion. The scene with Amparo Grisales dressed as a schoolgirl, trying to seduce her ex husband, a gangster with a gold colour buckle at his belt and a printed silk shirt, who observes her (hornily) twisting up a Greek style pillar, and, next act, in an unlikely acrobacy, stretching her in the gym exercised leg towards him and stating with a purr: “You still want me”, is simply grotesque.
In these series the dialogues full of gangster slang are abundant. “What I want is a though guy who maintains me” or “I crowned (fucked, WU) this little female”, are some of the sentences that make up the great literary effort of the script writers and which are what you could hear in whatever corner of our town, expressions that don’t exactly praise the pushing forward and the love to work that our ‘Paisa’ (the inhabitants of the coffee region and Antioquia, WU) race is so proud of.
These programmes make me feel that instead of distacing new generations from drugs trafficking, prostitution and superficiality, on the contrary they are a praise of these antivalues and that anti-aesthetics which sometimes drowns me in a kind of monstruous hallucination, in which one day we will be devastated by a tsunami of bullets and silicone tits.
MARÍA VICTORIA RAMÍREZ MARTÍNEZ
Corporación Contigo Mujer
Pereira, octubre 1 de 2009

Muñecas Mafia 1009In this post my friend María Victoria Ramírez writes about the new soapseries Las Muñecas de la Mafia (The Maffia’s Dolls) in Colombia and her home town Pereira. This column was published in Pereira’s newspaper La Tarde (The Afternoon). Enjoy it.

Thinking of a subject for this column I thought of the recent start of the tv-series The Maffia’s Dolls, and of a word that could describe this and other similar programmes. Extravagant! I told myself. But when I looked it up in the Real Academia Española dictionary I found the following: “What is done or said outside of the usual or common way of acting”. Yet, observing into detail the esthetics which have seized this city (Pereira, WU)- the way people talk, the way this town has begun to disguise its poverty or construct its great wealth, and even a new dialect – it strikes me that the texts of The Boss, Without Tits Paradise doesn’t exist, or The Maffia’s Dolls are not extravagant. They describe in a certain way style and daily life of at least a good deal of Pereira’s and also Colombia’s society.

I made myself do the terrible job – for me – to watch some chapters of these series, only with the aim to interpret it. But is was difficult to stay in front of television without feeling revulsion. The scene with Amparo Grisales dressed as a schoolgirl, trying to seduce her ex husband, a gangster with a gold colour buckle at his belt and a printed silk shirt, who observes her (hornily) twisting up a Greek style pillar, and, next act, in an unlikely acrobacy, stretching her in the gym exercised leg towards him and stating with a purr: “You still want me”, is simply grotesque.

In these series the dialogues full of gangster slang are abundant. “What I want is a though guy who maintains me” or “I crowned (fucked, WU) this little female”, are some of the sentences that make up the great literary effort of the script writers and which are what you could hear in whatever corner of our town, expressions that don’t exactly praise the pushing forward and the love to work that our ‘Paisa’ (the inhabitants of the coffee region and Antioquia, WU) race is so proud of.

These programmes make me feel that instead of distacing new generations from drugs trafficking, prostitution and superficiality, on the contrary they are a praise of these antivalues and that anti-aesthetics which sometimes drowns me in a kind of monstruous hallucination, in which one day we will be devastated by a tsunami of bullets and silicone tits.

María Victoria Ramírez Martínez is a member of the women’s organisation Contigo Mujer (With You Woman) in Pereira

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

